Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 16, 2005, 6:36 AM   #1

Hi,

I am torn between the nikon D50 and the canon rebel XT (350D). Price difference is not really an issue. I want something that will last me atleast 2-3 years. I am moving from a canon s40 to my first dSLR. I have been using a minolta maxxum 800si film camera for the past 10 years. I do understand a bit about photography, but now I feel more entusiastic about it and want to learn a great deal more. I also considered the canon 20D but after reading about similar results between the 20D and the rebel XT, I thought it may be wiser to stick to the 350D price range and invest in better lenses. I want to primarily shoot family pictures, wildlife, and sports events. I know that the 20D is ideally suited for this purpose, but a photographer friends suggests that the speed difference between the 350D and the 20D (3fps vs. 5fps) wont make much difference in my application.

The Nikon D50 has nice features such as the image reduction in the camera for internet usage, SD card, online help, etc. Ofcourse, none of these improve photograpic qualities, yet they are "convenient". Moreover, the 6mp is kinda putting off, but again I never really print large images.

Bottom line, I am confused. :? Any comment would be appreciated.

Regards,

Anurag Saraf (India)
Ragz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 16, 2005, 8:11 AM   #2

Ragz-

For me the grip on the 350D/XT and the viewfinder are total turnoffs. So I bought a Canon 20D. It is a great camera.

If you are considering the D-50 also take a look at the D-70 as well.

Ultra
ultrazoom22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2005, 12:56 AM   #3