Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 24, 2005, 10:57 PM   #1

I have been reading so many threads about lenses and combinations, but I am not any further along. I am new to digital SLRs, and the D50 is a top contender. I am also considering the Minolta D5 and Olympus E500.

I like the way the Nikon feels as well as the kit price, but the kit lense range seems limiting compared to the higher range & quality of the D70 kit. With that lense though, the D50 would be $200-250 more than the other two cameras. It would also be in strking distance of the D70, inclusive of the rebate.

Given these factors, does it make sense to go with the better lense with the D50? Is it a poor value? Is there a different lense combination that I should look at? The Minolta seems to be a bargain given the price, focal range (18-70mm) & reported lense quality.

In terms of my use, the camera will be used for indoor and outdoor family photos. A lot of kid action and nature shots as well as the occasional close up work (art. jewlery). I'm really not sure what size works best b/c I don't have the relative experience to know. I do know I want an everyday lense that is not oversized or super-heavy that is suitedfor people shots. Can you help?
macct is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 24, 2005, 11:21 PM   #2

MACCT,

No matter which DSLR you get, always buy good quality lenses.

The kit lens is usually an okay lens, but you might be better off buying the body only, then get a specific lens that you will use most often, and of good quality.

For family photos, some tend to be indoors. You need something at the wide angle for that. I'd start out with a lens that is 17 or 18mm at the wide end.

Make sure the lenshas a maximum aperture ofF2.8 at the wide end. These F3.5 lenses aren't worth it.High quality lenses start at F2.8 or better.