Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 30, 2005, 5:18 PM   #1

Hi I have always wanted to take up photography as a hobby and finally7months ago I bought my first camera a Nikon Coolpix 7900. Since then Ive got hooked. I would like to buy myself a Digital SLR now and take tis hobby so a higher lever. I am a sailor by profession and get to see manyplaces all over the world. Most ofthe photos I takeare landscapes, yachts, sunsets, people and wild life and I do also like to take any sport photos.

I was thinking of buying the Nikon D100.

I'd like to know if I am making the right choice and also what lenses would be ideal for the type of photography mentioned above.

Any reply would be highly appreciated

Thanks

AdrianGusman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 30, 2005, 5:23 PM   #2
Super Moderator

the d100 is rather slow compared to the newer models.. if you want to stick with nikon you would be better off with the d70s or the d50...
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 6:01 PM   #3

Thanks for yor reply,

What otherbrands/models would you suggest besides Nikon.

I will look into the d50 and d70
AdrianGusman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 6:52 PM   #4
Super Moderator

other good options are the 20d and 350d/rebel xt from canon.. both are 8mp sensors and offer similar image quality.. the 20d is a magnesium construction and has a faster frame rate, a higher top ISO rating, and more autofocus points..

konica-minolta offers the 5d and the 7d which offer image stabilization built into the body.. they both use the same sony 6.1mp sensor as the nikons..
Old Oct 30, 2005, 9:13 PM   #5