Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 30, 2005, 11:35 PM   #1

I'm new to digital cameras, and I'm unsure of what camera is right for me. I decided it would be best to ask you guys since it seems some of you have multiple ones, and have the expertise I'm lacking. I've done some looking around, but I'm not a serious photography guru at all, in fact I'm an amatuer. So I lack knowledge of what to look for in a camera. I need a camera that will get me started, and be able to let me grow with it for a while before I need to upgrade to get more advance features

Well first I should mention that my price limit is $500. I'm going to be taking pictures of just about anything and everything I can think of. Though I'm mostly going to be using it for family events (Indoor/Outside & Day/Night), some traveling, and a little bit of plant/wildlife/landscape.

Some features that I would like the camera to have are:

-A 'normal', 'vivid', and 'natural' color modes
-Be able to adjust settings like saturation/white balance/sharpness/etc. manually
-Excellent Color Reproduction
-Nice Sharp & Clear Images
-Red Eye Reduction
-Excellent indoor & outdoor capabilities (Since I want to have an all-around camera)
-Ability to Zoom More than 5x (Somewhere in the 10x or 12x range would be prefered. The ability to add attachments/lenses to zoom farther if I want to would be a nice feature, but not a must)
-Needs to have decent shooting speed/decent focus speed as I might take it to some family sporting events.

I don't know if there's a camera out there that meets my needs in the price range. I've noticed that some of my specifications are on DSLR's, which are a little out of my price range. Also, I don't want to fork out a $1000 on a camera since I'm not a semi-pro/professional photographer.

Any suggestions would be appreciated, and Thank you in advance.
Corianth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 31, 2005, 1:16 AM   #2