Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 11, 2005, 2:37 PM   #1

I'm torn between the Konica Minolta DiMAGE A200 and an SLR? I'm not a pro, but would like to learn more and take great photos. I've researched the A200 quite a bit and love its features and small form factor, 8MP and RAW file format for editing.

But, do I spend over a couple hundred more for an SLR?

Whatwill an SLRdo for me that the Konica Minolta DiMAGE A200 won't? I'm totally lost at this point and not getting much help from stores.

Any help is appreciated....Thanks.
stlphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 11, 2005, 3:08 PM   #2

stlphoto,

Good questions.

Here is what you'll get if you buy a DSLR over the A200;

- Better low light capability. The A200 has a max ISO of 800 whereas most DSLR's have a max ISO of 1600.

- More lens flexibility. The A200 has an excellent 28-200 lens. However, if you ever want to shoot wider than 28, or longer than 200, you'll be limited by the A200. Although I must say, 28-200 is where most people shoot most of the time.

- More responsive.DSLR's tend to have less shutter lag, and better focusing due to more autofocus points.

- Better picture quality. Although the A200 has very good quality, a DSLR is likely to top it.

If you really want to become the best photographer possible, consider a DSLR .

There are quite a few nice low priced DSLR's out there.

Put the Canon Rebel XT, The Nikon D50 and the Minolta 5D on your search list.

If you need more help, please feel free to private message me.

- Terry
terry@softreq.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2005, 3:52 PM   #3

i love my a200 but i haven't been able to get macro shots that satisfy me. i am looking for a better macro camera. if you plan to take macro/close-up shots, my advice is to skip the a200. if you can afford a dslr, i would go that route.

ellen fl
ellenfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2005, 4:49 PM   #4