Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 22, 2005, 4:19 PM   #1

Hello. I'm looking to buy a camera (less than $500.00, if possible) to take pictures for our local high school. I have a Hp 620 (2.1 mp), but it cannot handle taking pictures for the football games; outside. I get pretty dark photos that are'nt very good. The idea of getting the camera is to take the pictures and post them on the school web site. I'm volunteering myself to do this, but I have zero knowledge about cameras. Can a digital cameras flash handle taking pictures from about 60 feet away in the semi-dark? Do I need to buya camera that has a flash attachment? I'm so clueless I hardly even know what questions to ask...Does anyone have any ideas? If so, you can answer me here or e-mail me at [email protected] Thanks for your time....
Gawjacpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 22, 2005, 6:07 PM   #2

Most built in flashes are good for 30 feet or less.

You'd need adigicam with a hotshoe and a reasonably powerflash external flash.

For sportsyou need a camera that can do ISO1600 or ISO3200 (very sensitive setting for low light), and a very fast lens, likea 300mm F2.8 lens.

Maybe take a look at a Nikon D50, which is a nice entry level DSLR with sports shooting heritage (a la Nikon).

Then get yourself a nice zoom that reaches out to 200 or 300mm that has a max aperture of F2.8.

The whole thing might set you back $1300-1500, but with practice, you should have awesome football photos.

-- Terry
terry@softreq.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2005, 9:38 PM   #3

The Canon D50 is pretty assume. Has really good reviews. You can get it with a 2 lens kit for about $1000, or on the net I found that kit for $867. The kit lens seem to be pretty decent and the D50 is good at low noise (high ISO).