Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 26, 2005, 11:54 PM   #1

I don't want to start a Canon vs. Nikon thread, but I have an Fz5, and I am wanting to step up to a low end Dslr. There are 2 cameras that I have been reading and reviewing, the Rebel and the D50. Both are very similar. My friend has a Rebel XT, and he swears by it, but I have read the same about the D50. Is there anybody out there that has used both the Rebel (not XT) and the D50? And which is the better camera as far as the picture quality goes. The Rebel to me has better color saturation, but the D50 is less noisey at higher ISO's. I am also considering I have a 1 gig SD card that could be used in the D50 and if I get the Rebel, I would have to get compact flash for it.
I am an amateur photographer who is wanting to step up out of the point-n-shoot cameras. I mainly take general pictures, but love doing macro shots and sports...I shoot alot of night football games and I just can't get a decent stop-motion picture in low light out of the FZ5.
Thanks for the replies in advance.
Tony

viper3two is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 27, 2005, 10:06 PM   #2

If your thinking of a Rebel, I think your looking at an XT.

That's a very tough question, the Xt versus the Nikon D50.

First of all, you'll be investing in lenses. Once you start investing in Canon versus Nikon, it would be expensive to switch from one brand to the other, because you'd have to sell off your lenses (at a loss, usually) and start over with lenses in the other brand.

Here's a few things to think about:

- The Rebel XT is an 8 meg camera versus the D50's 6 meg camera. It makes a difference, specially when cropping.

- The Nikon D50 has 1/500th flash synchronization versus the Canon Rebel XT's 1/250th a second. Can make a difference if your shooting moving action and want to do some "fill flash".