Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 29, 2005, 9:21 AM   #1

I'm really at a loss here. For the last two months I've been considering upgrading to a DSLR for a few reasons, the main one being that they're fast.

Now the last week or so I've been looking at a couple of ultra zooms, the Canon Poweshot S2 IS and the Sony Cybershot DSC-H1.

I really love photography, though I'm an amateur and have only been doing it for a year now. The main reason I started looking at DSLR's is because I have a seven year old daughter and with my current camera I seem to be missing a lot of shots. I's just way too slow.

I also love zooming in on wildlife and I love taking nature shots and I like to take macro shots also. But the main reason is still photographing my daughter when she's playing and stuff.

Can anyone please give me some advice on which camera will meet my needs better. I'm having a hard time deciding between the Konica minolta 5D and the two cameras mentioned above.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

regards, mel
melhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 29, 2005, 9:50 AM   #2

If cost and portability not an issue, definitely DSLR. But for a DSLR to cover the range of an Ultra-Zoom, you are looking at probably at least 2 lenses and their associated cost. And thats more stuff to bring with you. I personally don't mind, but everyone is different.
RacingManiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2005, 7:36 PM   #3