Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 29, 2005, 11:27 PM   #1

I bought my first digital in 2003.....an Olympus C730 (3mp, 10x). It's been a good camera, but Ilike to photographwildlife and findthe cameratoo slow and the photos grainy. Time for an upgrade.

The Panasonic FX30 scares me because all the reviews I read talk about using the ISO's, etc. I want a camera to use as a point and shoot. Also, will going from 3 megapixels to 8 mean it will eat up too much storage on my computer?

The Canon Powershot S2 IS has the 12x zoom I want and the anti-shake, BUT it's only 5 megapixels (seems strange they want about $500 for a 5mp camera). Will I still get good pix when cropping? I feel like I'll be wanting to upgrade again in a short time.

I'm sure either will be faster/better than the C730, but I don't want to spend $500 every two years.

Any help anyone could give is appreciated! I'm not a professional, just a compulsive picture-taker who wants to take better nature pix!

Thank you,

Chris

grimmts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 30, 2005, 1:57 AM   #2

grimmts wrote:
Quote:
The Panasonic FX30 scares me because all the reviews I read talk about using the ISO's, etc. I want a camera to use as a point and shoot. Also, will going from 3 megapixels to 8 mean it will eat up too much storage on my computer?

The FZ30 is a great point and shoot camera. The talk about "using ISO's" has nothing to do with the camera being too complicated for the average user. Every camera has different light sensitivity levels (ISO's) which can be either set manually or chosen in automatic mode by the camera. If you just want to put the camera into "Automatic", the Panasonic makes an excellent choice.
rduve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2005, 9:33 AM   #3

rduve wrote:
Quote: