Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 8, 2005, 8:35 AM   #1

Im after my first ever digital cameraI can take with me to capture some nice photos at the wrestling events I go to. I'm no pro so the shots will be just for my own collection. Most wrestling events are quite dark soI will need a camera thats good in low light and has a good zoom. I'm looking to spend under £200 I've found two nice cameras that have taken my eye upto now and would really like some advice and if anyone could tell me where to buy them for the cheapest price ythat would be greatly apreciated too.

The cameras are:

Kodak Z700 - Found on Amazon for about £130 looks a nice camera with a good zoom but i dont know much more than that.

Cannon Powershot A610 - Seems to do everything but is quite expensive and is it too advanced for a beginner/amateur.

Any help, recomendations and pointers all very welcome. Thanks

Just found this on Amazon too Kodak Z740 Zoom Digital Camera [5MP , 10 x Optical] 1.8" LCD£159.91 seems a good camera and 10X optical zoom is the best ive seen.

Kieran 83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2005, 2:42 PM   #2

I know this is my first ever post but please any help is very welcome.
Old Dec 9, 2005, 3:32 PM   #3

A good ultra zoom with decent low light pictures is the Fuji FinePix S5200/S5600 (the latter is the designation in Europe).

5 megapixels, 10X optical zoom. No image stabilization, though.

Good luck!
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2005, 3:59 PM   #4

To prove what a amateur i am whats a image stabaliser?
Old Dec 9, 2005, 5:24 PM   #5

Image stabilization is a design feature that minimizes blurriness due to the movements of your hand, very important when using slow shutter speeds or zooming in fully. This is not to be confused with high ISO, which makes the 'film' more sensetive to light so that you can get faster shutter speeds in the same lighting conditions.