Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 15, 2005, 7:38 PM   #1

I originally posted this as a response to another post, but think it was overlooked as just another response, so I will post in separately in hopes of some response:
I'm a newbie here & am trying to choose a new camera for my Xmas present. I am considering the Canon S2 IS and the Panasonic FZ20. Both have deals on them for around $400 right now. I would love a DSLR, but can't afford one right now. Does anyone have any opinions as to which of these 2 would be the best? I have a 1 year old & 5 year old so I take lots of photos of them - so need something with with fast shutter lag. Also, the lighting in my house is not the best so need something that can handle indoor photos better than my little HP 3 MP I'm using currently.

I'm kind of leaning towards the Panasonic, but would like some first hand knowledge since I have no outlet to actually see the cameras in person & am having to order online. Thanks so much for any input!
dlhoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2005, 1:20 PM   #2

I own the FZ20, so for me it was the camera of choice. here are clear differences between these cameras, and each is better for some uses.

The wonderful things about the S2 IS include:

it has a terrific movie mode if you want to take short videos with your digital camera. The FZ20 has an absolutely abysmal movie mode. If this is important to you, buy the S2 IS.

It has a very nice burst mode for taking sequences of photos (if you are analyzing golf swings and the like, or want to have a series of pictues of a horse jumping over an obtacle at a steeplechase, this is a very cool feature. The FZ20 is limited to 3 images in its burst mode.)

The wonderful things about the FZ20 include: