Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 16, 2005, 10:00 AM   #1

Hello. New member here looking to buy first digicam. Have done research and can't decide between these two. Want smallish camera with 2.5 LCD that my wife and I can take everywhere. Want to stay under $350 and realize no camera is perfect at that price. Wife just wants to point and shoot; I wouldn't mind playing with the features a bit, so the camera should work well in either situation.

Consensus seems to be that F10 takesclass-leading quality photos, especially in low light.Great battery life too. That's very appealing. Two concerns:

1. Lack of optical viewfinder and problems in bright sunlight. What do F10 owners do in this situation? Guess and shoot? Put the camera away? Seems like this could be a major drawback. Or is this a minor problem that only surfaces in extreme situations? I have no experience here so I have no personal preference.

2. Confusing/inconvenient menu and operations. If my wife wants to just point and shoot, will it be a problem if she doesn't want to fiddle with the menu? Seems like you have to play with the F10 settings a bit to get the best results.

Bottom line:is the Canon SD450 photo quality good enough that it's not worth dealing with the above F10 concerns? SD450 seems to get good reviews.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!!
4eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2005, 11:08 AM   #2

4eyes-

The Fuji F-10 will give you better photo quality and offer you the added advantage of high ISO capabilities as well, allowing you to take night photos and photos without flash. The F-10 is the BETTER camera. I love mine.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2005, 11:38 AM   #3