Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 19, 2005, 7:53 PM   #1

This is my first time on the forum

I need help in buying my first digital camera.

Camera will be used for:

- Beach and park photos in sunlight

- Photo of active dolphins

- Photos of Bus and trains (when they standing still)

- Nightshots taken from a 4th floor of citylight

- most photos will be taken in sunlight.

I have 2 chooses after checking many different cameras

Canon Sd550 (ixus 750) or Fuji F10 .

Canon sd550

pro:the best photo quality and nice camera design, viewfinder,

con(Bad): short battery life, expensive,Not so good as fujion nightshots

Fuji F10:

Pro: The best compact camera for Nightshots, optional cradle charger, good battery

Con(Bad): Photo quality not so good as canon (too bright) , Xdcard, Cant use neckstrap, camera design not so nice as canon.

The biggest issue here seem to be that with Canon i can proudly wear a nice looking camera and take ultra-sharp photos in sunlight, while i will struggle a bit taking nightshots , but with Fuji i can get excelent nightshots and i get overall good photos on the day but inferior of Canon (fuji too bright) and Fuji F10 is not much of a Show-off camera in design.

At the moment i am thinking most about Fuji F10 since it performs well on nightshots and probaly is also good in capturing moving dolphins . but i cant realy forget about how great Canon photos realy are, they are just so sharp and bright (Except for the nightshots).

What should i do get Canon sd550 or Fuji F10

Price where i will buy is Fuji F10: 380 Euro , Canon Sd550(ixus 750) 500 euro

is it realy worth paying 120 euro more for Canon sd550 over Fuji F10?

John@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 20, 2005, 7:06 AM   #2