Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 28, 2005, 4:57 PM   #1

Sony R1 or Canon 350D (XT) or Nikon D50 or Konica Minolta 5D or even Fuji 9000?

I will mainly be taking photos of my son (1 month old). The rest I will be out and about taking landscapes, parties, normal stuff.

I really like wide angle. I dont need a big zoom. And would rather avoid changing lenses. I dont own any lenses at the moment.

I really like a great optical viewfinder. one that looks really big when you look in it.

I really love sharp focused portraits with narrow DOF. And landscape photos that look almost 3D.

I have never used manual controls before, but intend to learn. Still, I would be keen for the camera to have a reliable auto mode.

I love wide angle, so I am keen on the Sony R1. However, I have not seen many great photos from it. The focus problems worry me also. It's about $1699.

The 350D seems to produce fantastic photos, and consistantly. I am worried it is pretty small and might be a pain to use. I am looking at the 17-85 IS lens. With this lens, it is about $1739 (including a $400 rebate on the lens). It's about $1429 with the 18-55 kit lens.

The Nikon D50 feels great to use. That's about all I know about it. It seems overlooked by people. it costs about $1199 with the 18-55 kit lens.

The KM 5D is pretty good too! Unsure if the stabiliser will be useful to me. it costs about $1275 with the 18-70 kit lens.

I am even considering the Fuji S9000. It seems nice to use. Unsure if it will have the full range of colors to take really great photos. I even looked at the Kodak P880, but it feels terrible.

Help?
lord_ultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 31, 2005, 3:46 PM   #2

It would seem as if everyone is recommending the DSLR route because they are at the top of the class,but you have to consider what you will be using it for.