Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 28, 2005, 7:15 PM   #1

I am overwhelmed with reviews some positive and others not so much.
i was looking at the hp photosmart717, but i am not sure now.
i can spend $300 max. should i get a canon or what? i am new to digital photography, but i am a fast learner. i am looking for a decent picture with decent video if possible. i know the hp supposedly has bad video, but decent pictures. is it a good buy

sincerely,
bewildered
balla4evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2005, 7:29 PM   #2

Most people seem to agree that the Canon A520, A610 and A620 are the best deals for around that price. If you don't care for manual exposure controls, then the Fuji F10 (which goes for $299 at Amazon, last I checked) is a very highly recommended camera, with absolutely awesome low-light performance.

Personally, I like cameras with a lot of zoom,. With your budget, I'd get a Minolta Z5 or Z3 (5MP and 4MP respectively, 12x zoom with stabilization). They take very nice movies, you can use the zoom while filming (a super-rare feature), you can even do some limited videoediting in-camera. They are also not too large (for a 12x zoom camera), very ergonomic, and easy to use. I'm a Panasonic fan myself, but when a friend of mine asked for the closest he could come to my FZ10 but with a smaller size and camcorder-like abilities, I recommended he got one of these Minoltas, and he loves his. It does take awesome movies, and great pictures too. The image stabilization is rock-solid - a lot better than my Panasonic's, and about the same as the IS system onthe $1400 lens I have on my SLR!

You'll probably find these recommendations and comparisons helpful:

http://www.airshowfan.com/guide-to-d...-cameras-2.htm

airshowfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2005, 8:47 PM   #3