Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 4, 2006, 9:33 PM   #1

If you had the choice between these 2 prosumer digital cameras - which one would you go with and why?

PANASONIC LUMIX DMC-FZ20 (5 megapixs) or NIKON COOLPIX 8400 (8 megapixs).

I'm a first time digital camera user. I've been taking pictures with a 35mm SLR for 9 years. I would prefer a DSLR, but the prosumer brands are the price range i'm stuck in right now - and i figure since i'm new to the digital world, these type of cameras will be a good intro to the digtal world.

My dilemma is this, i like the Pansonic FZ20 strictly for it's lens - the f2.8 ALL the way through.

But i like the Nikon 8400 strictly for it's wide lens - i'm partial to wide lenses with 35mm.

But overall performance and picture quality, if you had your choice between these 2 cameras, which one would you go with?

Thanks.
frank booth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 4, 2006, 9:55 PM   #2

Frank-

I own BOTH cameras! And honestly I believe they address really different aspects of photography. The FZ-20 is a great ultra zoom digital camera with a great lens. It does not do well with low light level shooting and when using high ISO settings. But outdoors it is great.

The Nikon 8400 is really targeted at landscape photographers with its unusually wide 24mm (in 35mm terms) lens setting. It is SLOW, but produces great photos.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2006, 2:07 AM   #3

mtclimber -

Thank you for your reply, i appreciate it. Amazing you own both cameras! Like you said, they are definitely 2 polar opposite type of cameras - which has made the decision tough for me and it's an awkward comparison/ question.

Interesting and very helpful note about the Pansonic not doing well in low light situations - even with it's f2.8 setting. Does the same go for the Nikon in low light situations?