Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 8, 2006, 9:41 AM   #1

I'm looking for a camera under $1000, but is unable to decide between the prosumer-type Sony Cybershot DSC-R1 and dSLRs.

My greatest concern about the R1 is the ability to change lense (although I'm not likely to buy a second one)

The imager of the R1, with a 10.3 MP of resolution, is what attracts me. Also I like the swinging LCD.

I'm pretty new to advanced photography, but I with to buy a model with some depth of field because I'm intended to learn.
leooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 8, 2006, 1:47 PM   #2

leooz-

I am not sure where you are located in the world, perhaps Australia? But here in the USA, with the price of the Sony R-1 right at $(US)1,000, by the time you added shipping and a memory stick you would be OVER $(US) 1,000.

There are some great R-1 sample photos at the www.dpreview.com Sony Forum. Bottomline, it is a personal decision, and we know nothing, unfortunately about your experience, budget, and goals and the like. The Sony R-1 by all opinions has a great lens, but the key question is does that lens give you enough flexibility?

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 9:49 PM   #3

Thx, MT~^^

I live in Canada. Maybe R1 is right for me? cuz i am not intended to spend money on advanced lenses...? how much do they generally cost if I want to shoot at home and lanscape telephotos?

I hav never goten serious in photography (until now) and I wanna know if the r1 will serve me for a period of time (at least 3.4 years?)
Old Jan 8, 2006, 10:15 PM   #4

"Maybe R1 is right for me? cuz i am not intended to spend money on advanced lenses...?"

Yep, it sounds like the R1 is right for you.

"...I wanna know if the r1 will serve me for a period of time (at least 3.4 years?)"