Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 8, 2006, 6:10 PM   #1

Hello my name is Dave, basically a new to the digital camera world. I have a cheapo 2 mp HP that barely works, only good for stills. Probably about a 2-3 second delay between photos at best.

Anyway I need a better one. I have read a few of the topics on here but I would like to hear more.

Anyway I have sports kids, football, basketball etc... and I also raise pigeons and for this I take some indoor low light shots. I am willing to spend about $350 but would prefer to stay around $300 if at all possible.

The 5 mp range of cameras seem to be good enough for me. I am only looking for good 8x10 photos at best. Im not a pro or anything.

The Canon A610 looks good to me, as for the A620 but I am concerned about whether the 2x adapter will be good enough for good indoor sports shots or outdoor long range shots like on a football field. I like the burst mode on the cameras and think this will do well for sports shots, and this should somewhat compensate for a slower upload as I don't plan to take a whole bunch of consecutive shots but I would like to have that ability if need be.

I am intriqued by the Sony H1, a little out of my range right now?, and the Panasonic FZ5. I have handled the FZ at Circuit City and think it's a nice camera, very small. I think I would prefer a little bigger.

I have seen the Kodaks 740 and 7590 but they don't have a IS and wonder if they'll be good from the hand with a long range shot?

so basically I want a good reliable camera and one that takes good indoor and outdoor shots but the images dont' have to be perfect by any means. As I said I will print more 4x6 prints than anything and many of my photos I edit with Microsofts Image software before I print. I can change much about this photos before I print them to include focus or tint, or color.