Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 9, 2006, 8:44 PM   #1

I have decided to buy the Cannon digital Rebel XT.:-) I have been taking digital photos for a while with a pretty crummy camera, and am ready to make that next step. I had a package all picked out-then I called to order it. Somehow I went from $1000 to $1899 in about 5 minutes.:? I decided to wait a day or two before I ordered, so now I feel like I am back at square one. Please help me figure out what is best for me, not the company I buy from. I am new to the SLR world, so it is getting pretty confusing.

First, I want a good lens. I will mostly be taking pictures of my (young) kids, playing sports and sitting still.Do I need a Sigma lens? The sales guy seemed to think so. Or a lens with IS? Next, I want a battery that will be worthwhile. It seems the package that I picked had a battery that lasted 30 minutes. The guy wanted to sell me on a 5 hour battery. Worth it? Then there is the card. I there really a difference between a 512 card and a 512 high speed card? Or a 512 and 1 gig card?

Any help would be appreciated.:G Also, if possible, I would like to know a good place to buy this camera from online. Thanks!

Roselane is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 9, 2006, 9:48 PM   #2

You sound like you were calling a less than reputable store (going from $1000-$1899 in 5 minutes!). Don't call them back, try a reputable store next time (like B&H, Adorama, Amazon, Buydig, Beach Camera). There are many stores out there trying to sell you a bunch of unnecessary accessories at inflated prices. The salesperson was lying to you left and right. The standard battery for the Rebel XT lasts a good couple hours (several hundred shots). The Rebel XT can take advantage of a high-speed card, but most amateurs (unless they're shooting sports) aren't really going to need it.

May I ask which store you called?