Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 16, 2006, 7:25 AM   #1

Hello people. I really need some help here. I have been putting off buying a digital camera for almost a year now (!) because I can't seem to make up my mind. First I wanted an ultra-zoom. Now I know that what I want is a good camera that will give me more control than your everyday point-and-shoot. I've noticed that the Canon Powershot G6 seems to top a lot of the lists, even though it is a relatively "old" camera. Resolution is important as I am an artist who would like to get into photography and will be printing up pictures (nothing too large though). Any recommendations?
(Yes. I know. "Go for a digital SLR". I would, but they're out of my price range - poor, struggling artist - remember?).

I'm going crazy! Every week I think I find the right camera and then I look it up on the net and......

Thanks in advance
Erik

erik1927 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2006, 8:04 AM   #2

As long as you're in that vintage, consider the Sony V3. It is a similar age to the Canon G6; similar resolution; excellent lens...what makes the V3 stand out is the autofocus system and the response speed of the camera.

I also like the night framing...which allows you to setup a shot through the LCD even in complete darkness and then take the shot using the flash.

Nightshot mode is an Infrared (about the equivlent f ISO2500) which can take shots in complete darkness without flash...they are monochorome of course but there may be no other way of getting certain shots at all.

I have had a V3 since they came out and it is one of the best cameras that Sony has put out. Of course, time moves on and the V3 isdiscontinued but there are still some available in stores.
Meryl Arbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2006, 8:52 AM   #3