Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 1, 2006, 5:22 AM   #1

Hi there,

I'm new to the forum and digital photography and i got a few questions. I was told by a salesman that they didn't make digital cameras that shoots Continuosly! Sounded like a bunchof crap to me but since i'm new to digital cameras i don't know for sure.I like to take photos of my kid buti always miss the moment with my old camera. If you guys know any decent cameras within the $500.00-1,500.00 range that shoot continuosly could you suggest a few? THanks

george
johan327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2006, 1:04 AM   #2

find an other store and talk to an other sales person,because alot of point and shoot do , and for 500-1500$ you could get a digital SLR like the canon Rebel xt which I have and love,read some more forms in the dslr section ,you could enjoy speed and continuose shooting for about 1000$ or less.
ht770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2006, 3:06 AM   #3
Super Moderator

For that matter you can get the Canon 20D with 18-55mm lens for $1300 from B&H.

It shoots at 5 frames per second, and if you are shooting in JPG mode will give you about 40 shots before the buffer runs down and then will shoot at about 1 fps after that.

Just a little example of the sort of thing this makes possible...

This sequence was taken indoors without flash using the 20D and 18-55mm lens.
Attached Images

peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2006, 3:12 AM   #4
Super Moderator

You also might find this interesting...

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...ight=20d+movie

peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2006, 12:51 PM   #5

I'll never recommend against a DSLR for quality and versatility. If you want top quality photos in many varied conditions they can't be equaled by the so called prosumer digital cameras with smaller sensors and a fixed lens.