Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 2, 2006, 5:08 PM   #1

I am a college student who will be researching in remote places in Africa and coastal Belize who wants camera with excellent control. With that said, there are practical restrains of cost (600$ max for everything: filters, memory and extra batteries), durabilityas I will be out in the field (I don't know if dust, heat, rain, or sea air are a problem in the digital world) probably without electricity for a up to a week at a time. A good zoom is also importantas I will be taking pictures of wildlife. I have spent a lot of time comparing the specs.

I have considered S5200 and FZ5 as possibilities, but open to suggestions. Advice about camera care in these conditions are also welcomed.
anet12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2006, 7:23 PM   #2

I am no expert, I've only had one digital camera (Lumix FZ10) which I am very satisfied with. So have that in mind when you read my opinions.

So many time without electricity: you will need more thanone spare battery. How many? If you want to use your camera the whole week, there should be some solution (some kind of portable electricity source to charge the batteries - otherwise you'll spend half your money just buying them!) You will also need a good amount of memory cards, or a portable bank memory - but I haven't seen those for less than $200.

A good zoom: One of your options is an FZ, I'd go for it (again, my first and last digital camera is the FZ10) or for something alike. The FZ5 does not have a hotshoe, but you would need an extra flash to make use of it(+++$) so it doesn't matter.