Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 6, 2006, 1:56 PM   #1

I need some help in deciding which camera I shall buy. I am an amature photographer. Have been working with 35 mm film SLR camera's before and with Canon Powershot G2. Now would like to buy a so called "prosumer" digital SLR of good quality. I saw that Konika Minolta Maxxum 7 D and Cannon EOS 20D are among the best cameras in this category according to you reviews. But I am nos till sure which one is best for me. To be honest I do not often print large format pictures and therefore not quite sure if going for 8 mega pixels on the expense of Konika's antishake function is the right thing for me to do. On the other hand, not knowing how this antishake function performs, I am not convienced if this features is more important than 8 mega pixels. Except for antishake function which camera is a better performer? When you make A4 format prints will you notice difference between 8 and 6 mega pixels? Is the difference huge when printing on A3 format. Please help to choose between these two cameras.
Vamex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 6, 2006, 6:43 PM   #2

Most photographers on this forum would agree it's the photographer, not the camera, that is going to make the most difference in the final result.

Having said that, you've selected two camera models that would be considered "enthusiast" or what I'd call serious amateur to semi-pro camera models.

Both are excellent cameras, and certainly one could talk about the 6 megs versus 8 megs, antishake versus no antishake.

However, given your level of expertise, you might want to consider purchasing an entry level DSLR and leave yourself some room to buy extra lens.

Take a look at the Minolta 5D or the Rebel XT in comparison. You'll be saving yourself quite a bit of cash looking at those camera bodies. Both cameras will be a serious jumpin comparison to what you're currently using.