Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 8, 2006, 3:14 PM   #1

I'm new to the digital camera market and I don't have a clue...

I'm looking for:

1.) Good quality movie clips and sound

2.) Quality still pictures, which can be blown up and printed at good quality.

3.) A camera that doesn't look cheap (i.e. too plastic)

4.) RAW ability if posible

Please suggest which you think is best??

smitpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 8, 2006, 4:30 PM   #2
E.T

Before narrowing choises to certain cameras first tell what kind of things you would photograph?
General use with landscapes and architecture or wild animals/birds?
Because cameras with big zoom numbers are worse to former uses than some cameras with smaller zoom numbers.

(yes, zoom number is like megapixels, it doesn't tell anything concretic)
E.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2006, 12:14 AM   #3

smitpc wrote:
Quote:
I'm new to the digital camera market and I don't have a clue...

I'm looking for:

1.) Good quality movie clips and sound

2.) Quality still pictures, which can be blown up and printed at good quality.

3.) A camera that doesn't look cheap (i.e. too plastic)

4.) RAW ability if posible

Please suggest which you think is best??

For Video and sound the S2 is excellent ( possibly the best )but that is it ONLY good feature. Buy the S2 and look for " THE FOG EFFECT". It does NOT look cheap and has ON raw.

End result pictures are a tad out of focus its a shame since this really is a nice camera with LOTS of extras.

videosilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2006, 4:50 AM   #4

videosilva wrote:
Quote:
For Video and sound the S2 is excellent ( possibly the best )but that is it ONLY good feature. Buy the S2 and look for " THE FOG EFFECT". It does NOT look cheap and has ON raw.

End result pictures are a tad out of focus its a shame since this really is a nice camera with LOTS of extras.