Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 21, 2006, 9:42 AM   #1

Let me start by saying I am a novice so please don't be too hard on me. I am looking to purchase a new camera and am leaning towards either a Kodak P880 or Canon 2S IS. I don't want to go the DSLR route because I don't want to carry all the extras. I realize my two choices are very different when it comes to the lenses. I want a camera that does it all (lol). Most of the shots I take are of scenery (love sunsets and sunrises), some outdoor action (whale watching, fishing, golf) and, of course, the usual family indoor shots. We travel a lot and our upcoming plans include Zion and Bryce Canyons in 2 weeks, then St. Maarten, Cabo San Lucas, Hawaii and Scotland within the next year.

Both cameras have adapters available to gain more zoom or telephoto capabilities which would be of interest to me… but how good are these adapters? I am thinking of getting both cameras (sans adapters) for my upcoming trip and returning one. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
MDietteric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 21, 2006, 11:56 AM   #2

MD-

Few digital cameras cover both the wide angle end of the lens as well as the ultra zoom area. One that comes to mind is the Fuji S-9000 which covers the 35mm equivalent of 28mm to 300mm all in one lens.

I own both the Canon S-2 and the P-880 and often cary them together because they really do not overlap each other very much. With the current sale going on at www.costco.com that makes the cost of the Kodak P-880 just $399 after rebates and sale price deductions. And when you add to that low price the fact that included in that price a free Kodak 256mb SD card is also included, the P-880 becomes more attractive, and is lower priced than the Canon S-2.