Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 25, 2006, 3:20 AM   #1

I'm looking at purchasing the Sony CyberShot DSC-R1 does anyone have anything bad to say about this camera?

It will bea multi purpose camera I am not a professional with photos and don't know what lighting to use indoor or outdoor I don't know proper shutter speeds to use when. But want to learn, would this be a good camera to start with or does anyone have a better suggestion?

Thanks
DJMic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 25, 2006, 7:29 AM   #2

I think its a fine camera, and it does address one of the biggest issues with P&S digicams...noise at higher iso's. Because the camera uses an aps sized sensor like a DSLR, it will produce cleaner images at higher iso's. However, the camera is quite large, and expensive, and lacks a little on the zoom end...whatever camera you buy will have some tradeoffs.

I generally would not consider the R1 a beginner camera. It's size may make you less likely to carry it with you, and its shorter zoom may limit its flexibility (most consumers love the extra zoom reach, although all you have to do is get closer to your subject). Since your experience is limited, why not try one of the less expensive cams and learn the basics. The sony DSC-v3 can still be found, now under $450, and has great image quality, good automatic and manual controls and is slightly smaller. Or you could look at one of the superzooms, the Canon S2 or Sony H1, which are now under $400. I would hate for you to spend nearly $1000 on the R1 and it become an expensive paperweight. At most levels, the photographers skillis more important than the camera.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 7:44 AM   #3
Administrator