Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 25, 2006, 11:57 AM   #1

Ok, I'm a college student at Maritime and a photo-enthusiast, I mainly take black and white, and often find myself in low-light situations when on the ship and wanting to take photos of the shore at night (i end up either with nothing or blurrly shots from leaving the shutter open long, i have a 1970 film SLR). I'm looking to spend up to $500-$600, and the models I'm looking at is the Olympus e300, Canon Digital Rebel 300/350, or Nikon D50. I want to know which of these make the best low-light pictures, and also offer good shots with a telephoto lens. thanks. If there isnt much difference id go with the Olympus since its the cheapest.
DorkUnderwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 25, 2006, 12:55 PM   #2

For the price, the D50 is hard to beat. It's build quality is also a bit better in its class. Although all DSLR's will yield great results, the E-300 would be the 3rd choice, as its smaller sensor size limits image quality at higher iso's. Also, there is a lack of inexpensive lenses available to grow your system.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2006, 1:34 PM   #3
Administrator

DorkUnderwater wrote:
Quote:
Ok, I'm a college student at Maritime and a photo-enthusiast, I mainly take black and white, and often find myself in low-light situations when on the ship and wanting to take photos of the shore at night (i end up either with nothing or blurrly shots from leaving the shutter open long, i have a 1970 film SLR).
If you're taking photos of the shore at night, you need a tripod.

You can't expect to hand hold a camera and get decent photos in near darkness.

You can increase ISO speeds to help, to a point, using a very bright lens to go with a