Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 26, 2006, 3:04 PM   #1

Hello, this is my first message here. ButI always check this webpage. Here is the point, Im planing on buying a new Camera, Im studying photography. I live in Peru and i was thinking on buying the Rebel Xt or the Eos 20D,but thenI saw that canon is coming with the new Eos 30D. The lowest price for the 20D here is at 1500$ (american dollars).And probablythe30D will be more expensive (than 1500$) here.Besides probably it will take like one more month to come here and i need it like for march or april. So, do you think it is worth the waiting and the more expensive price or should I go for the 20D. Im something more than an amateur phtographer, probably an enthusiast, but Im willing to become pro some day. One more thing, I would like a camera that will last some years, lets say like 4 on a minimum.

Thanks for the advice and sorry for the grammar, my mother tongue is spanish,so Bye or Chau.
harybd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 26, 2006, 3:25 PM   #2

Actually, the 30D is coming out at a lower price than a 20D. Seems like a no-brainer to me.
Old Feb 26, 2006, 3:29 PM   #3

Sorry, my mistake. I live in a country where everything is more expensive (at least for electronic). So, the Eos 30d is gonna be more expensive than the 20D probably like 200$ or 300$ more (if we are lucky).
Old Feb 26, 2006, 3:35 PM   #4

Kalypso wrote:
Quote:
Actually, the 30D is coming out at a lower price than a 20D. Seems like a no-brainer to me.
I don't want to go over a moderator, but as I understand the 30D's "release" price (now) IS lower than the 20D's release price WAS (18 months ago) - but the 20D will actually be around the equivalent of one to a few hundred dollars cheaper than the 30Din the same stores.

That's what I'm finding by web research anyway...

Paul
pj1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2006, 1:36 AM   #5