Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 4, 2006, 11:53 AM   #1

Hello to everyone! i have been navigating this site for a few weeks now & it appears most of you are experts!!! So glad i found this web site.

I have just purchased a Kodak P850 & am about to return it. It is my first ever digital camera & i love love love alot of things about it but alot of things i am not used to using or just simply dont work. this camera is on the Best Cameras page & i reserched it there before i bought. BUt because i am no pro or expert alot of the wording i dont get so in plain english i need to know what i am doing wrong with it & what camera i need please. i have looked into the konica minolta dimage z6 as well or the canon s2is or even the panasonic lumix dmc fz5k and lastly i have been reading about the new Kodak z612 (i think) that was on this site & found more info by contacting Kodak, its not due out though till next month but its on my check into list since at this point i am back to square one.

I want a camera w/12x zoom & a minimum of 5 pixels. i am not partial to any brand i just do not want to spend more than 500.00. as far as what batterys it runs off of well i dont have a preference b/c i am not versed in that dept. yet. i dont know if one has more photos per charge over another &/or how long one lasts iin the long run over another. also one w/a low repair track record too would be nice. I checked at consumer reports magazine & their reviews even in current magazines are out dated sometimes. but they like sony, panasonic,nikon as far as repair history.