Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 7, 2006, 4:31 PM   #1

I am really going crazy :?trying to decide between these two cameras. I would really appreciate any/all help you can share.

I am very impressed with the Canon video I have seen. It far surpasses the Sony. But I am reading that the Sony takes better photos...especially with a higher ISO. I am a novice, so I don't really understand it, but that the Canon has more noise at the higher ISOs.

Here is what I'll be using the camera for: taking photos of my 4 beautiful children (including an active toddler), taking cool nature pictures (sunsets, up-close pics of flowers, etc.), taking pictures and videos at my childrens' sports events (indoor basketball and outdoor football, dance, etc.) I am obviously a novice photographer, but have always loved taking pictures and have received many compliments on them. (These are with a 35mm camera; I have a Nikon N65.)

PLEASE help me! I am waking in the night thinking of these two cameras! I just want to make the right decision and not regret my choice.

Thank you so very much!

Crazy:?

crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 7, 2006, 5:19 PM   #2

I was in the same situation about 2 months ago, its actually between the H1, the S2 and the FZ5. I ended up with the FZ30 and ive been happy eversince. Altho initially I was leaning towards the H1, but just before I pulled the trigger I held an FZ30 and started doing research about it. It not a perfect camera but it serves my purpose as a Novice hobbyist. If its just between the H1 and S2 Id go for the H1 because it looks sharp and feels good in my hand, both should take very good pics.

Oh and BTW the upgraded models for both the H1 and the S2 were announced already.

Happy shooting
royco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2006, 5:29 PM   #3