Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 10, 2006, 4:01 PM   #1

How do the alternatives to D50 such as models by pentax and konica minolta 5d compare the the nikon?

Have anybody used D50 and those for comparison?

Right now I am looking to buy a digital SLR and D50 seems like a good bet, however I would like to explore the alternatives. Any feedback at all about that?
zenit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2006, 4:52 PM   #2

zenit-

Because I am an instructor for my local Community College and our state university, and because we conduct a course called, "Getting the Most from Your New DSLR Camera" I do indeed own, and usethese cameras I have some hands on extensive experience with the Canon 350D/XT, the Canon 20D, the Nikon D-50, the Nikon D-70,the KM 5D, and the Pentax DS/DL/DS2 cameras.

A rather large factor that plays into which camera you will choose has to do with the kind of photos that you like to take for example if you really take a lot of low light level photos, the the much higher maximum ISO setting of 3200 that is oly found on theKM 5D and the Pentax DS/DL/DS2 will become an important factor.

All of the, so called, "consumer" dSLR camera on the market do an excellent job, and will provide you with a great camera. The real issue is joining you up with a dSLR that is best adapted to your interests and your style of shooting and experience.

So please share with us what camera you are currently using, something about your experience, the kind of photos that you really want to take now or even in the future. That will allow us to make better recommendations to you.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2006, 4:57 PM   #3