Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 10, 2006, 7:21 PM   #1

Hi everybody,

here's the deal: I went to a local camera shop with the semi-firmintentionof buying the FZ30 because I had heard good things about it. It sells for 695 euros with a 1 Gb mem card in this neck of woods.

However, it turns out the shop also has a special price for the Nikon D50 at the moment, it's 599 euros with 18-50 Sigma objective (whatever that is?) It sounds tempting.

I am an absolute beginner with cameras, so I would appreciate any opinions on which camera I should choose. As it is my first camera, price and ease of use are important factors. What I mostly will be using the camera for is to shoot pictures of small objects such as miniatures and plastic models, so a good macro is a plus. Of course, I would use the camera for general shooting as well.

Thanks in advance!

Foul ole Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2006, 8:27 PM   #2

While the Nikon D-50 does indeed have an Automatic Mode, it is a much more complex camera than a point and shoot camera and a much better camera IMHO due to the fact that you have the ability to interchange lenses. However, those additional lenses also add to the expense total.

So you must first decide if you are willing to consider a dSLR camera.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2006, 11:07 PM   #3

It depends on what pictures are pleasing to you. I personally didn't care for the pictures I took with my FZ30, though others have taken lovely pictures with the same model. You might look at the other Panasonics (FZ20or FZ5), which (again, just my opinion) seem to have slightly better quality photos than what I was getting (but don't have some of the features that the FZ30 has). If you are taking pictures in good light, the FZ30 will give you nice pictures.