Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 10, 2006, 11:04 PM   #1

I am very new to dslr photography. in fact, iv never owned one. i started researching on them as if i were on drug a few months ago. Now I'm all obsessed with expensive gear like the 30D. And im even planning to buy 3 or 4 pretty decent lenses that would cost a few thousands bucks in total.

But now i realized i never really learnt proper photography. im ready to spend a lot of effort in it but even if i do, do i really need something like the 30D and all the lenses?

Initially i was gana try the newbie models, like the rebel xt, but many of my friends hav them. And they totally feel like toys! well they are made of plastic after all.

HELP, i feel so ambiguous... T.T
argh, cant hell stop thinking about the darn cameras. @@

sum advises plz, THX very much
~Iteloo
leooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2006, 12:40 AM   #2

get the 30D and enjoy it, I just soled my xt today and will get the 20D but most likely the 30D, a good camera body is important and I have 2 lenses sigma 18-200 and canon 50mm F1.8 to go with it , so buy a good camera body a good lens or two and start taking pictures and enjoy it , good luck.:|STOP SHOPPING.
ht770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2006, 1:41 AM   #3

I am buying a 30d, not so much because of all the extra features but because I just like it more. It has more appeal like a ferrari has more appeal than a landcruiser., it looks better, it feels better. Sometimes you have to let go the logical arguments about cost etc and just go with what you feel. The xt does feel like a toy, the 30d you can get your hands around and get a proper grip on, it just feels right. If I like the look of something, that takes precedence over cost and most other factors.