Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 14, 2006, 12:27 PM   #1

I bought the Pentax Optio S when it first came out because it was so tiny (people were amazed at it) and thus I could Always have it with me as I travel for a living. I have used it for almost 3 years and have many, excellent photos; many that are excellent in that I was able to take them at all because I had a camera with me.

But of course the 3.2 mp Pentax with 3x optical has many limitations. It will almost not perform in low light, and it has other optical (barrel distortion)errors. I am not complaining, it has been great. Especially in good light.

But now I am looking at the upcoming Casio EX-Z850. Wow, 8.1mp, still 3x, but with stabilization AND the all important Auto Focus Assist Lamp, a must.

Is this the only compact with this combo of features and small size? I would like to be able to comparison shop. I know larger cameras are more capable, but they don't do you any good if the camera is not with you because it is too large to have in your pocket.

What cameras compete with the Casio? How are the Casio lenses?
arrowspace90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 14, 2006, 1:24 PM   #2

Casio lenses aren't great. Fortunately the Z850 doesn't use a Casio lens and it is excellent.

There is a big difference between optical and digital stabilization. The Z850 has digital stabilization. It evidently works well for movies but is nearly useless for still images – as are other digitally stabilized cameras.

The Z850 has some nifty features. It has a movie light and will take 3 flash shots in a second. It makes good MPEG4 movies and I like the past movie mode. You just aim the camera and wait for something worth filming to happen. When the girl finally pops out of the cake you start recording and it includes the previous 5 seconds from the buffer. It saves a lot of grinding away waiting for something interesting to happen.