Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 15, 2006, 10:12 AM   #1

Hello. I've been observing here for some time but this is my first post as I'm about to upgrade, and seek advice if it's ok.

I've been using a Sony DSC-S75 for a few years and it's great for snapshots and prints up to 5x7 inches, but I'm getting serious with my hobby and will have need via work, to do very good and very sharp 11x14 prints.

I know people who own both a Canon 10D and a Nikon D70, and both are nice cameras with maybe the Canon I think making slightly better prints, but I have also seen 11x14 prints from both of these and the details are not quite as good as we're going to need. I need for fine details like grass, hair, etc, to be really nice and sharp. Both of those above cameras did very well up to 8x10 samples I saw, but after that while still good, those very fine detailed items started getting that digital mush appearance you read people talking about in here.

At first we were looking at the 20D and then the 30D was announced, but I've also read comments from people saying that the 20D isn't as detailed as they like in larger prints, so maybe the difference between 6 and 8 megapixels isn't enough for what we need (?). The Canon 5D looks good and gets rave reviews from users, but at $2900 it's a little more than we wanted to spend. The Nikon D200 looks promising, but the banding problem I've read is a concern. Some of our work will be indoors with no flash, so speeds of 400 to 800 might be needed and still get a decent 11x14 print out of that.

Suggestions are welcome on which route to go. Again, the primary top goal is for large prints where super fine details are visible and not mushy. thanks.
richardj30127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 15, 2006, 10:34 AM   #2

Well, we can probably figure out what you need since you list the 8x10 as good and 11x14 as unsatisfactory, from two different 6mp cameras.