Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 16, 2006, 5:59 PM   #1

So I've a budget of about $1000 (give or take a $100). Previously owned an olympus and a nikon 35mm slr (no lenses invested so can't choose based on that). I'm tired of my FZ20 and want something new with more control and flexibility with lenses.
My shortlist:

Nikon D70s w/18-70 (18-200 sometime later when budget allows)
Olympus E-330 w/14-45 (14-54 or 18-180 later)
KM 7D w/28-75 (current bundle $999 at adorama)

Nikon D50 ($507 body: 18-70mm + 50mm 1.4 -or- 18-55mm + 20mm f2. 8)
KM 5D ($625 body, 28-75mm -or- 17-35mm)

I like all of the above and the E-330 is the only one I haven't held. Wondering how nice the new CMOS is. The live view is attractive, as is the dust-removal system. The novelty of it really is a high selling point for me (i know it shouldn't be .
I'm not a pro, or semi-pro. I'll be using it for traveling (india or south america next), just walking about and a lot of evening/night/indoor shooting. Some portrait photography. Low light shooting is important, if that matters and can greatly separate one from the others I listed (i will also invest in better lenses for this sake!). I understand post processing is often necessary but it's something I am learning.
So what would you get? (leaning a bit towards the D70s ).

NowGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 16, 2006, 6:05 PM   #2

If it were me, today, I'd get the KM 7D (you can find it for around $800-$900 now), the battery grip (not available with the 5D) & several lenses (& it doesn't matter who makes them).
Old Mar 16, 2006, 6:35 PM   #3
Administrator

I'd probably go for the 7D package at Adorama.

B&H is getting almost that much for just a 7D body ($934) and gets $389 for the 28-75mm f/2.8

$999 for a 7D with a 28-75mm f/2.8 is a heck of a bargain.

But, I wouldn't wait too long (supplies may dry up quickly).