Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 16, 2006, 11:25 PM   #1

To tell you the truth, I have no money to spend on a dSLR camera. I was wondering if there are any decent dSLR cameras for an extrenely entry level digital-photographer. I have a lot of experience with SLR film cameras, but not digital. Also I was wondering if the Fujifilm s5200 or any other point-and-shoot type cameras similar to that one have the option of manual focus. I know the point-and-shoot system doesn't have interchangeable lenses, but can you add extra mounts and whatnot to make it macro or zoom-in more, etc.?

Thanks, I know I'm quite "digital-naive". Help would be much appreciated...
alanportfolio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 17, 2006, 12:06 AM   #2

What kind of manual focus are you looking for? The Fuji S5200 does have a manual focus on it but its pretty useless and hard to use(bad location for the button, its the same button as the zoom in/out but you have to press another botton to get manual focus). The manual focus is right next to the view finder so if you are using the view finder it is kinda hard to operate unless if you use the LCD. (this was true for me atleast).

If you are looking for something with a manual focus ring, the Fuji S9000, Panasonic FZ20/FZ30 are two camera that are very popular and has a manual focus ring. The new Sony R1 is good too but cost about $900 or so.

Those camera with manual focus ring are close to atleast $500. You can pick up the Pentax DL for about that price and pick up a good lense for another $80, that will give you a lot more feature then a PnS camera.
superakuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2006, 1:02 AM   #3

The Fujifilm S5200 does offer manual focus and anti-blur technology and optional wide & telephoto lens adapters. Looks like a cool camera! The Nikon 8800 offers manual focus and likely many other high-end all-in-one's do also.