Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 20, 2006, 11:34 AM   #1

I want to be able to photograph seashells in the 3-10mm size and be able to enlarge and get good detail.The following URLs will takeyou to a few examples of what I'm producing with a Cannon Powershot A620. All photostaken in ambient light (outdoors or florescent),macro mode and manual focus.

http://www.jaxshells.org/sto.htm

http://www.jaxshells.org/maroo.htm

http://www.jaxshells.org/ziff.htm

http://www.jaxshells.org/0206a1.htm

I want to upgrade to an SLR from which I can expect significant improvement in detail. So, I'm looking for advice on the optimal body, lens and closeup filter set.

I've been using Canon A-60 and then the A620 for past two years. But, when I used to do more serious photography as a youth, it was Nikon SLRs. I want to get serious again, but not over a $1,000 serious.

marlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 21, 2006, 9:50 AM   #2

marlo-

It is just a personal opinion, but I would look at a Nikon D-50kit and then add the Nikkor 60mm macro lens. I shoot my Nikon D-70 with the 60mm Nikkor and it is a sweet combination, but it exceeds your budget I believe.

Your photos are excellent by the way.

MT

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2006, 4:02 PM   #3