Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 4, 2006, 9:07 AM   #1

Hello Everyone!

I want to buy a digital camera, but I cannot decide which one to buy!It is because I'm a beginner in this field, so I need your help! My tip is a Canon a610 vs. Fuji S5200. Which ont to buy? I need the camre to make landscape(nature) photos,portrait, etc..

Please give me some advice!

Thank You!

barniK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2006, 10:40 AM   #2

There is a radical difference in the capabilities of the Canon A-610 and the Fuji S-5200/S-5600. Neith of those cameras have a wide angle lens which is most often used for landscapes. The Canon A-610 has only 4X optical zoom while the Fuji has 10X optical zoom and a low light level shooting capability. Can you share with us why you chose these two cameras?

You might want to take a look at the Nikon 5400 selling for about $250 that does have a very nice wide angle capability and would also be ideal for portraits.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2006, 1:10 AM   #3

Hy!

Thank's for the suggestion. Answering to your question: I decided to buy or the Canon or the Fuji, because some friends of my said that I should buy Fuji and the other group of friends suggested to buy Canon. I canot decide! There is no Nicon 5400 in stock (in the shop)from where I want to buy.

Offer some other cameras or suggestion.

Thank you
Old Apr 5, 2006, 10:10 AM   #4

I think you need to be a bit more specific about your requirements not only in terms of theshots you want to take but also size and budget.

The Canon is a (sort of)compact camera while the Fuji is a "superzoom" so you need to think aboutwhat you want to carry around with you.

Do you have to buy a camera from the one shop? There are plenty of online retailers if the choice locally is a bit limited, although admittedly you won't be able to pick the camera up and "play" with it beforehand.