Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 4, 2006, 2:01 PM   #1

Hello - I am preparing to purchase a Nikon DSLR for taking pictures at horse events.

I need a camera with:
  1. as little shutter-lag as possible,[/*]
  2. that can focus on fast moving objects (close up and far away), and
    [/*]
  3. fast shutter speed.[/*]
"Nice to have" features would include
  1. Continuous Shooting, and[/*]
  2. very high resolution.[/*]
I have been looking at the D70 all along... but now am considering a higher model.

I am currently not a professional, but would like to work my way there. I've been saving $$$ and currently have $1000. That was my goal, and promised myself the D70 when I reached it, but now I'm closer to the possibility of D200.

Anyone have any opinions or facts that would help me make this decision?

I currently do not have any lenses or other accessories, so I don't have to worry about fitting current equipment. I want the best camera for this specific job.

THANK YOU!!
sjsimpson2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2006, 10:21 PM   #2

SJSIMPSON-

In reality you will eventually need the Nikon D-200. However, you can most probably aid the process of getting started, as I did some 50+ years ago, by purchasing a used Nikon D-70 body, starting your lens collection, and developing your skills, little by little.

You often see D-70 DSLR dodies on E-Bay at quite a reasonable price. You need seasoning and experience and that is how you will get it.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2006, 10:56 AM   #3

Hi mtclimber,

I tried the D200 at an event a few weeks ago - wow. It was wonderful.

But, I've had several people tell me that if I'm serious about sports photography, I should get a Canon (the 30D). Anyone have thoughts on a preference for my requirements between the D200 and the 30D?

THANKS!
Old May 23, 2006, 11:13 AM   #4