Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 4, 2006, 2:40 PM   #1
rms

Hi everyone,

Let me start by saying that when it comes to photography, I'm a complete novice/amateur/all-around-dummy. I am looking to buy a new digital camera, though, and I need help choosing the right one. This is what I want to do:

1. Take sport shots and outside shots

2. Take good, sharp close-ups of my family (for cards, frames, etc)

3.Spend less than $1000, preferrably less than $500.

I tried to do some research, but all I could find was that for close-ups you want a wide-angle lens, and for long shots you want a high optical zoom. Is this correct?

A friend has recommended ther Kodak Easyshare 6.1mp Z650, but I want to explore other options.

Please give me some guidance on the right camera for my needs.

Thanks!

Robin
rms is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2006, 4:35 PM   #2
rms

I see that the Fuji Finepix S9000 is offering a $100 rebate, has a long zoom, and a wide angle lens. Would this be a good choice for me? Net price would be around $420.
Old Apr 4, 2006, 4:52 PM   #3
Administrator

rms wrote:
Quote:
1. Take sport shots and outside shots
What kind of sports?

If you need to take photos of indoor sports, or night sports in a stadium, a DSLR model would be a better solution (Konica Minolta Maxxum 5D, Nikon D50, Canon Rebel XT, Pentax *st DS2, etc.). You'll also need a bright lens to go with one.

Otherwise, shutter speeds may be too slow to prevent motion blur in many low light conditions.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2006, 5:54 PM   #4
rms

Mainly outdoor softball. I would be interested in a DSLR, but I worry it would be too advanced for me, and I don't have time to take a class.Thanks for the advice! I will definitely check out those cameras.RobinJimC wrote:
Quote:
What kind of sports?
Old Apr 4, 2006, 6:01 PM   #5
Administrator

rms wrote:
Quote: