Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 9, 2006, 7:56 PM   #1

First, I would like to say that I really appreciate the time and effort that goes into this web site and forums. As a webmaster, I understand the work that goes into maintaining such an adventure.

OK. On to business.

I have never owned a digital camera, and so I have been researching on the web and visiting retail sites to procure one. My main reason for wanting one is for family events, vacations, etc. I am not in any way shape or form a photographer with any skill.

I had made a decision to go with a Canon A series because of the quality of the images and their prices. However, upon my discovery of the "dreaded E18" error, I have abandoned the Canon name. I would like to point out that I realize that there are probably thousands of these cameras that will work for years to come without getting this error, but I am not willing to gamble.

The Panasonic models of FX9, FZ7, and LZ3 are worthy cameras as well, but the Fuji F10 seems to stand out in its quality of images, although it is eight months in age.

Questions:
  • Are there just as good of cameras on the brink of being exposed (no pun intended) that would be worth waiting for? I realize that one could wait forever in wanting to secure the "perfect" camera, and I have given myself the date of 4/17 to make a decision.[/*]
  • I have read elsewhere on this forum that the xD cards are horribly slow, but I'm not sure how that affects the performance of the camera. Is this in transferring the images to the PC or in saving them after shooting?[/*]
  • I know that the F30 is coming out next month, but will it's CCD be equivalent or larger than the F10?
    [/*]
Thanks for any advice that you can give to me.

John
jcallicotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9, 2006, 9:38 PM   #2

Well, John-