Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 10, 2006, 2:44 AM   #1

i've been using a CANON powershot s45 for the past 3 years, but have had the LCD screen crack on me recently (my fault, it dropped out of my pocket).

here are my needs: i want something smaller than the s45 was. i mostly just take snapshots, but i'll take more serious photos, and i also like to mess with manual settings to do this.

and although i like to do manual settings i liked all the pre-set modes on the s45.

i'm down to the sony p200 and the canon sd 600 (or some other elph-series camera).

can someone help me figure out which might be better for my needs between these two (or any other suggestions?). thanks!!!

i'd prefer to be able to use my compact flash card, but won't cry if i can't use it anymore (i realized that the sony uses memory stick and the elph series use SD).
scuzm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 10, 2006, 9:17 AM   #2

Of course, you could buy a used Canon S-45 over on E-bay and that would use your CF cards and save a bit of money. Otherwise, IMHO, I would be looking at theSD-700 IS first, then the Sony P-200 if you can find one. Sony has stopped production on the P-200, and the inventory is dwindling.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2006, 11:23 AM   #3

thanks! a friend just adivsed i should wait for the sd 700 too.

so if i don't have the $$$ for the sd 700, you think the p200 is a fine option?

i'm not sure if image stabilization and all the other bells and whistles will be worth the extra $230 or so...

then again, it might be!

if i were to go sony, then would you say p200 over the t-5? the t-5 doesn't have a full manual mode...it seems.
Old Apr 10, 2006, 3:44 PM   #4

If I went to Sony, it would be for the P-200. BTW I think that the SD-700 will be worth the extra money.

MT
Old Apr 11, 2006, 12:49 AM   #5