Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 10, 2006, 2:23 PM   #1

I've looked at the sample images on both, but it's hard to tell if there is a big difference between the two. I like the idea of the non-retractable lens and also the viewfinder. Plus, it's 9 megapixel, although I think that might be deceptive when regarding the IS size.

John
jcallicotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 10, 2006, 2:39 PM   #2
E.T

Now much would depend on what kind camera you're looking so you should also tell about requirements.

But from longer tele cameras S9000 is about only one which has wide angle.
E.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2006, 2:54 PM   #3

I am looking for a camera that will be good for shooting family, vacations, landscapes, etc. I am not a professional photographer, or even a good amateur one so manual controls don't attract me. Also, I don't care about the size of the camera, but I do care about that quality of the resulting images. I want to keep the cost under $350 if possible.
jcallicotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2006, 4:37 PM   #4

Because the Fuji S-9000 is designed to compete with the consumer DSLR cameras the images right out of the S-9000 will require some editing to get them to their optimum. If you can deal with that, the S-9000 is certainly a possible choice.

I biught a S-9000 and it did not give me what I wanted. I already owned Nikon lenses, so I purchased a Nikon Factory Refurbished D-50 body for $399.00. It has worked perfectly for me.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 4:14 PM   #5

Dear MT Climber,

What were your complaints regarding the S9000?

I am interrested in buying one, are used to working with SLR's, and now want a digital camera that can cope with shooting high resolution in low light conditions. Yes, I'm talking about "noise" here: what were your experiences with noise?