Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 12, 2006, 10:32 PM   #1

Hi Everyone,

I was searching on the internet for a camera advice, and I think this is one of the places that i Found.

Well, I'm newbie with the digital cameras, finally I'll get mi first digital camera, but I'm looking for the best option. I'm only going to be able to get a camera maximum $250 bucks. I'm not an expert with cameras but I want to get a good one, probably 5 or 6 mega pixels.

I was looking in some stores but... lots of models... so, I would like to get an advise from you, with your expertise and experience I think I can get a good deal.

Thanks in advance.
kerozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 12, 2006, 10:36 PM   #2
rey

Check out Steve's Best Cameras:
http://www.steves-digicams.com/best_cameras.html

Last year I bought my niece a Canon A520 after doing a quick research. I'm not sure it has been discontinued since I got it for $200 with 512MB memory card, and I saw it in stores a few months ago for $150.
rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2006, 10:38 PM   #3
mrb

There are a vast number of digital cameras now in the $150-$250 range.Providewhat types of pictures you will be taking, in what environments, and any other preferences that you may have, and people on this forum with some experience may be able to better guide you.

The link from rey and Steves detailed reviews are an excellent resource. Look at them carefully. After some research, you should go to a local retailer who carries a lot of models and see how they feel.

I just purchased a Canon S2 IS for $285, which I see is a bit higher than your budget. I havereadthat the Canon A series cameras are very good, so I would take a good look at them.

Good Luck
mrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2006, 10:38 PM   #4