Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 16, 2006, 9:41 AM   #1

Hi

I'm in the market for a budget digital SLR but I've done so much research now that I'm all confused! :?

My circumstances are thus:

o I know nothing about the technicalities of producing a good photograph but I'm interested in learning.

o I'm coming from a simple point & shoot background

o I have small and, from the evidence of previous shots, somewhat shaky hands

o I know I'm interested in an SLR but I would like it to be light enough to carry around all day and compact enought to fit in a standard rucksack with all my other supplies for a day's sightseeing.

o I'm buying the camera for a trip to New York for hopefully some great cityscape shots. Thereafter I think I'll mostly be using it for portraits, group shots, landscapes and distant objects.

o I have no prior experience of SLR usage so I think I could get used to anything, handling-wise. It's the picture quality that's most important to me, and the ability to get a photo about A3 size if the shot's good enough.

o Cost/availability of lenses is a factor.

This is my shortlist, in no particular order:

Olympus E500 cost body + 14-45mm lens = £470
- anti-shake seems appealing *REVISION - it doesn't!
- dust cleaner-off'er thingy sounds good
- 8mp
- 2.5 lcd

Nikon D50 cost body + 18-55mm lens = £417
- good reviews
- only 6mp - issue?

Canon 350D cost body + 18-55mm lens = £489
- good reviews
- 8mp
- small lcd - issue?

KM 5D cost body + 18-70mm lens = £450
- 6mp - issue
- anti-shake

Your views are most welcome on what seems most appropriate for my circumstances. Many thanks!

nickytgraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 16, 2006, 10:05 AM   #2
Administrator

Quote:
Olympus E500 cost body + 14-45mm lens = £470
- anti-shake seems appealing
The Olympus does not have anti-shake.

My favorite entry level model is the Maxxum 5D. But, I'm biased since I have this camera. ;-)