Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 21, 2006, 10:20 AM   #1

Hi everyone! I have been wantinga camera that will take nice pics of my daughter's basketball games for QUITE a while now. I liked what I read about the rebel xt and the pics I saw in the sports pictures section on this site for awhile now and thought that would be the one I got THEN my son-in-law let me take his maxxum 7d to a game and I got pretty decent pictures considering my lack of knowledge. In reading the differences between the 7D and 5D I would prefer the 5D for the weight and ISO pic quality is supposed to be improved over 7D at higher numbers (ithink i read that).

I'm new to the dslr but am wanting to learn and I believe I have learned a bit from you guys especially in the sports section. Both of these cameras would do great for my everyday....family, vacations, birthdays, etc but what about the high school basketball gyms? I'm definitely leaning to the 5D for obvious reasons. . .If I get the 5D I can use my son-in-laws lenses until I can build my own collection. :-)

So what do ya think?

Oh BTW did I mention that my daughter's basketball team won the STATE CHAMPIONSHIP this year? :GOk sorry that was bragging. Back to the camera..I would greatly appreciate your imput! Gotta birthday next month and I'm hoping............
darlenerenee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 21, 2006, 10:40 AM   #2
Administrator

Your choice of lenses will be as important as the camera for low light conditions.

What lens did you use on the Maxxum 7D?

A bright prime is best for indoor sports (for example, for KM DSLR models, I'd go with primes like the Minolta 50mm f/1.4, 50mm f/1.7, 85mm f/1.4 or 100mm f/2), shooting at higher ISO speeds. But, you might be able to get away with bright zoom, depending on the lighting.