Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 3, 2006, 5:21 AM   #1

I am a high school teacher and need to purchase a high quality camera and lens ($1800-$2300) that will take sports photos like the newspapers. Could you please recommend one? The pictures will be used for the high school yearbook and need to be colorful, sharp, and clear. I have some flexibility with the price. Thank you.
Bville is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 3, 2006, 5:31 AM   #2

Bville-

It sounds as if a consumer DSLR camera such as the Nikon D-50 would serve you well and still remain well within your budget. You did not mention if these photos are being take outdoors during the daytime, at night, or indoor in a gym. Can you elaborate a bit please?

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2006, 5:53 AM   #3

Thank you for responding. The pictures will be taken both outside on the field and in the gym. We seldom take pictures at night but our area is often cloudy.
Old May 3, 2006, 7:04 AM   #4

Bville wrote:
Quote:
a high quality camera and lens ($1800-$2300) that will take sports photos like the newspapers. Bville,
Bville,

This is a good news / bad news kind of situation. FIrst the good news, there are several options that will help you shoot sports. The bad news is, you will likely fall a bit short of the 'like the newspapers' goal. Especially for field sports, newspaper photogs typically use a lens like the Canon 400mm 2.8 which costs around $6500 and typically use a pro series Canon or Nikon camera which costs around $3700. So, you'll have to rein in your expectations a little bit.