Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 3, 2006, 12:26 PM   #1

Hi all

As this is my first post I should first of course say hello, so here I am :-) I'm a student of art & art management at the University of Groningen (the Netherlands) and I'm preparing to make the jump from my old analogue SLR to a digital SLR. In highschool I was an avid photographer but the last few years I haven't taken as many pictures as I'd've liked, the cost of having film developed being the main reason.

I have two main requirements for a digital camera. First I'd like the flexibility of a digital camera - not being stuck to a single type of film roll, so that I can use my camera in different circumstances. Usually I take pictures of landscapes, seascapes, and cityscapes, but I'm also a theatre director and I like taking pictures of actors at work as well, as well as just every day snapshots. On the other hand, I don't want to compromise in quality of pictures that I take, and that is the second main requirement.

My budget allows for one of the three well known basic models, the nikon d50, olympus e500 and the canon 350d. After having spent several hours online the e500 seemed to fit my needs best; it was the best quality camera (both images and ergonomics & design etc) in relation to its cost.

This afternoon I went to some stores to ask advice from salespeople there, who somewhat confused me. They basically wrote off the d50, which was no surprise, but to my unpleasant surprise, they also recommended against the e-500. Some for no particular reason ("I don't know... we just don't like it") others for a viable one, and that is because the sales of the e-500 are somewhat disappointing, so it's unsure whether Olympus will be able to provide any support for it in the next few years.