Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 4, 2006, 11:44 PM   #1

Hey guys, I'm trying to decide between the Konica Minolta 5D and the Nikon D50. I know that Sony will support KM lenses but Nikon still has a larger variety to choose from. One big plus about the 5D is that it has image stabilization built into the body.

I'm a college student with alot of knowledge in photography. I currently use a Panasonic FZ15 (the closest thing to a SLR in the prosumer field) so I'm used to having IS. I plan on replacing the Panasonic as I'm feeling it's limits (especially with indoor/low-light shooting).

I work for my school's paper and occasionally shoot sports games. The Panasonic's AF system was too slow for my tastes, even at 1-point AF mode. I do not plan on continuing fast-motion shooting after I graduate in a year, so having a fast AF system isn't the most important factor when I think long-term.

The best part is that the KM is smaller and lighter! But I'm still torn...because Nikon has a larger userbase. If KM's camera is better, then why are so many people using the D50?
Comp625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 5, 2006, 12:03 AM   #2

I'm not a pro photographer but being the pragmatist that I am, I'd go for a camera which has the better range of lenses. The body is only half the equation and if you do a lot of photography with different lenses, the impact of the body is lesser.

Of course there are other points you should consider such as burst speed, size, etc.

My 2 cents...
woof72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2006, 12:17 AM   #3

I'm doing a little bit of research and apparently, some users report the KM as having trouble with focusing inaccurately (especially when paired up with 3rd party lens). Is this true?
Old May 5, 2006, 1:01 AM   #4